Content Hub permanent asset delete
Release date: 16th October 2023
Permanent asset delete functionality has been temporarily disabled while we investigate some reported issues. We will enable it as soon as we can.
Currently, when you delete assets they are not permanently removed and associated data remains on your account. Any reference to permanent asset delete within the documentation isn't applicable.
In this release we’ve upgraded the Content Hub asset delete action from a ‘soft’ to a ‘hard’ delete, that permanently removes assets from your account.
Benefits of permanent asset deleteLink copied!
The change to the way asset delete works brings several benefits, such as:
Helps to ensure licensing and legal compliance
Optimized storage capacity for your account
Greater control over asset workflow
Helping with complianceLink copied!
Permanently deleting assets helps to ensure compliance where licensing and legal obligations require that data is removed.
- Licensing conditions could specify that you can only use images for a set timeframe
- Legislation may require you to remove data to comply with data privacy laws, such as GDPR
Optimized account storageLink copied!
The upgraded delete optimizes how much space you are using as it permanently deletes the assets and any associated files such as metadata and thumbnails. The ability to remove any unwanted data helps you to tidy your asset stores and folders, and improve finding and searching for assets.
Video files don't get permanently deleted.
Asset workflowLink copied!
Deleted assets are removed along with all of their related data. This means in the future, you can upload new assets with the same names as previously deleted assets, without friction.
To help prevent assets from being mistakenly deleted, Content Hub users must first unpublish assets before deleting them. Note, developers can delete both published and unpublished assets with the GraphQL Asset Management API.
Seamless transition for usersLink copied!
The upgrade to permanent asset delete doesn't impact how Content Hub app users delete assets. Users will continue to delete assets in the same way and see that their deleted assets are no longer visible in the app. Where in previous releases, deleted assets were still available in the background and could be accessed by developers via the API, now they are not.
If you want to retain an asset in Content Hub, but remove its public URL, unpublish the asset.
For custom scripts (triggered via processing jobs) that delete assets, permanent asset delete will be available in a future release.