Working with assets
Once assets are ingested into Amplience you can view the asset properties, preview types such as images and PDFs, and publish assets to our Content Delivery Network (CDN).
Most asset management is performed from Content Hub, however, there are some asset management tasks that you can do from the Dynamic Content Assets tab too, for example, uploading and publishing.
Asset cardsLink copied!
In both Content Hub and Dynamic Content, assets are represented by asset cards. Each asset card shows the publish status of the asset and allows you to perform contextual actions. Asset cards in Dynamic Content include a subset of the actions shown on cards in Content Hub.
Content Hub asset cards are shown in the image below. For each asset you'll see an icon in the top left that shows what type of media it is. If a locale has been specified, for example
en-gb, that is also displayed. When you hover the cursor over an asset, contextual icons for performing actions are displayed. Notice, the cog icon which displays the asset contextual menu from which you can perform more actions.
Dynamic Content asset cards are shown in the image below. When you hover the cursor over an asset, contextual icons for performing actions are displayed.
The asset contextual menuLink copied!
The Content Hub asset contextual menu, is available by clicking on the cog menu or by right clicking an asset, and includes a set of actions that you can perform on an asset, such as previewing, publishing, creating media sets and editing with point of interest. It also allows you to set workflow status.
With multiple assets selected, the items shown in the contextual menu will reflect the selection.
Publishing assets with Content HubLink copied!
This section describes how to use Content Hub to publish assets. You can also use the Dynamic Content Assets tab to publish assets, which is convenient if that is where you do the majority of your work. For more information, see uploading and publishing assets with the Assets tab.
In Content Hub the publish status of an asset is clearly indicated by the publish icons. If it has been published, a green cloud icon is shown. If the icon has not been published this icon is not displayed.
The up arrow in a cloud icon in the lower area of an asset card is used to publish an asset. If you click the publish icon for an asset that has not been published, the asset will then be published and a URL will be generated for it. We also use this to republish existing assets that have been updated.
The image below shows an image asset in the process of being published.
When the asset is published, the green cloud icon is displayed. If the cloud is marked with a tick, it indicates that the latest version of the asset is published.
If you make a change to a published asset, such as replacing it with an asset of the same name, or restoring from a previous version, then the asset will require republishing and the cloud icon will be shown without a tick.
Assets can also be published from the 'Publish' item in an asset's menu or from the properties pane. If multiple assets are selected, then each of these items will be published.
Previewing an assetLink copied!
You can preview an asset in Content Hub using the eye icon. This will display the asset in a pane on the right hand from where you can make the image larger and zoom in and zoom out on particular areas of the image.
Preview is only available for particular asset types, including images, video, sets, PDFs and animated GIFs. For assets where a preview is not available, the eye icon will not be shown.
Copying filenames to the clipboardLink copied!
When you are working in Dynamic Content, you can quickly copy the filenames of assets to the clipboard. This is useful for if you want to notify a colleague of files you've uploaded.
Note, this feature is specific to the Dynamic Content Assets tab and isn't available in Content Hub.
To copy a single filename to the clipboard, simply click the 'Copy filename' icon as shown below:
When you click the 'Copy filename' icon, a message is displayed notifying you that the filename has been copied to the clipboard.
To copy the names of multiple files, check the 'Select all' box (at the top left of the page), then click the 'Copy filename' icon which becomes available at the top right of the page.
Tip: If you want to copy most of the filenames you can see on the tab, use the select all method above and then deselect the files whose names you don't want to copy.
Clicking the 'Copy filename' icon at the top of the tab, copies the names of all selected files to the clipboard, in a comma separated list.
Renaming an assetLink copied!
From Content Hub you can rename assets and also set the item's label, which can be different to the asset name. To rename an asset, choose "Rename" from the asset's contextual menu.
The rename feature is also available from the asset properties pane. Click the pencil icon to the right of the name or label to open the rename dialog.
In the example below the name of a published asset is being changed from "signature-image" to "signature-hat". Note that the asset name must be unique within your account.
When you upload an asset to Content Hub, the label will be set to the asset name, but you can change it to a more friendly name to help you identify the asset. The label will be displayed below the asset in the gallery. In the example the asset's label is also updated to "our signature hat".
When you choose to rename a published asset it will also be republished for you with its new name. Click "Save & Publish" to change the name and label and to republish the asset. You can also rename an asset that has not yet been published.
The asset will now be available at your image URL with its new name, for example https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/signature-hat.
When renaming an asset you should not include the file extension (for example ".jpg" or ".png") in the name field.
Deleting an assetLink copied!
From Content Hub you can delete assets from an asset store. To delete an asset, choose "Delete" from the asset's contextual menu.
Just deleting an asset from Content Hub will not unpublish the asset or remove it from our Content Delivery Networks (CDNs). To completely remove an asset from your site you need to do the following:
Unpublish the asset using the Dynamic Media app. Unpublishing an asset will remove it from the mid-tier CDN cache as well as the origin servers.
Purge the asset from the CDN edge servers. If you do not purge the asset, then you will need to wait for the time to live (TTL) to expire.
Delete the asset from Content Hub. You may choose to keep the asset in Content Hub so you can re-publish it later.
For each asset you can set a workflow status by selecting the 'Set workflow status' item from the Content Hub asset contextual menu. From the workflow status window you can select whether an asset is draft, archived, in review or approved or to assign the asset to another user within the account. When you change the workflow status this will be reflected in the asset properties pane.
Note: The workflow status is not enforced and is intended to support an existing workflow rather than imposing a new one, as well as to make assets easier to organise. Workflow status is independent of the publish status and assets can be published irrespective of the workflow status, or whether one is set.