In some circumstances content producers may wish to update content items that have already been added to one or more edition slots. For example, on noticing a spelling mistake when previewing the edition content. The update editions feature makes this easy by allowing the content producer to push such updates directly from the content editing window.
The planner can choose whether to lock or unlock each instance of content in a slot. This lock is shown in the content usage panel and allows planners to be in control of which content in an edition can be updated from the production view.
Locking and unlocking content in slots
An icon is shown to the left of each content instance in the content usage panel indicating whether the content in this slot can be updated. In the example below, a previous version of the "Winter collection coats" content item is used in the "Home page hero banner slot" in the "Festive promotion" edition, but this content instance is locked. In order for this content to be updated, the planner must unlock the content instance.
If a content instance is part of a scheduled edition, then it will be shown with a blue lock icon in the content usage panel. The edition would need to be unscheduled before the content could be updated.
Expand the section below for more details on locking and unlocking content in slots.
Editing content in a slot
When the Update editions feature is enabled, a lock status is shown for content items added to slots. By choosing to lock or unlock a content item, the planner can control whether the update editions feature can be used to update the content.
In the example below, the "Winter collection coats" content item added to the "Home page hero banner slot" has been locked and cannot be updated. In the content usage panel in the production view, this content instance would be shown as locked and not updatable.
Note that when update editions is enabled, content added to slots will initially be unlocked. Content added to slots before the feature was enabled will be locked. When update editions is not enabled, hovering over content in a slot in an unscheduled edition will show the edit and trash icons to allow you to edit or remove the content.
The content instance is now unlocked and shown as unlocked in the content usage panel. It can be updated using the update editions feature or edited or deleted from the slot view in the edition window.
Content instances that can be updated show up with a status of "can be updated" when you hover over the unlocked icon next to the item in the list. As shown in the example below, all the content instances of the "Winter collection coats" item are unlocked and can be updated.
Updating content in editions
In this example we've made a change to the image used in the "Winter collection coats" content item and want to update all the slots in all the editions that this content is used in.
To choose which content instances to update, choose "Update editions" from the Save menu.
A list of the slots and editions that contain the content is shown. Choose which content instances to update from the list. If a content instance is locked, the check box will be grayed out. The update button will reflect the number of instances that you are updating.
Click the update button to push the updates.
When the updates are complete a green tick is shown against the updated instances. In this example we have chosen to update the content in the "Home page hero banner slot" in both the "Get ready for the festive season" and "Great bargains. Style on a budget" editions.
These slots are now updated with latest version of the content. If we look at the "Festive promotion" edition, the "Winter collection coats" image in the "Home page hero banner slot" has been updated.
Once the planner is happy with the updates, they can lock the content instance to ensure that it can no longer be updated.