Skip to main content

Defining a simple content workflow

Dynamic Content includes features to help enhance your content production workflow: content item statuses and the ability to assign content to one or more users. On this page we'll provide an overview of these features and include links to pages that go into each feature in more detail.

Content item status
Link copied!

Content item statuses can be used to provide a visual indication of an item's progress in the production process. You can define up to 100 statuses per hub and give each its own label and colour.

Statuses are flexible enough to support a workflow such as translation and fit in with your content production process. Statuses provide a visual indication of an item's state and you can filter using status in the Content Library, focusing on those items that require review, translation or new images, for example.

Item statuses can be viewed and updated from a content item's card

Viewing content statuses
Link copied!

To add, view and edit a content status, choose "Status" from the settings menu.

Choose status from the settings menu to view, edit or create content statuses

The Status settings window is displayed listing any statuses that you've set up on this hub. From this window you can add a new status or edit an existing one, updating its label and color.

In the example below we've defined a set of statuses to support a translation workflow and assigned a different color to each one. You can define as many statuses as you like, up to a limit of 100.

caution
  • If the status feature is not available on your hub, contact your Customer Success Manager to have it enabled.

Adding and editing content statuses
Link copied!

To add a new status click the "+" icon at the bottom of the status settings window. Give the item a label and choose a color. In this example we're adding a status of "Image review" and assigning a dark blue colour to it.

Adding the label and choosing a color for a new status

When you're happy with the label and color, click the Save icon to the right of the color.

Saving the item status

The status will be added to the list and available to add to a content item.

The list of statuses showing the newly added Image review status

To edit an existing status, just change its label or color and click the Save icon to save changes. Note that it's not currently possible to delete a status.

Assigning a status to a content item
Link copied!

Once you've set up statuses on a hub, you can assign a content item's status from the save dialog or from the content editing window.

When you create a new content item and save it, the status menu is displayed in the save dialog as shown in the image below. Choose a status from the list to assign it to the content item when the item is saved.

You can set an item's status when saving an item

You can also view or edit a content item and set its status from the menu.

You can also change the status from the status menu

An item's status is shown at the top of the content editing window. Setting a status does not enforce any functionality and is only included as a visual guide to help your workflow. In this case the status has been set to Draft.

The status is shown at the top of the content form

In this example workflow, when the item is translated we set the status to In Review and the reviewing user can use this as a filter to focus on items that need their attention.

Marking an item as In Review

Viewing and editing a content item's status in the Content Library
Link copied!

A content item's status is shown on its card in the Content Library. From the card you can also update an item's status or assign a status to an item that does not have one set.

The example below shows how to update an item's status from the contextual menu on its card.

Choosing the item's status from the item's menu in the content library

Filtering content items by status
Link copied!

You can filter by content item status by clicking the "Filters" icon at the top of the Content Library window. The content statuses that are in use on this repository will be displayed and . you can select one or more content status to use to filter the Content Library view.

Choosing to filter by content item status

In the example below, the Draft status, so only content items that have this status assigned will be displayed.

Filtering items by status in the Content Library. Showing only items with a status of draft

You can also use the content item status in conjunction other facets, such as publish status and date modified.

Assigning content items
Link copied!

You can assign content items to yourself or to one or more other users and filter the Content Library by assignee. This allows you to focus on just those content items that you need to work on.

Assignees can be added from an item's contextual menu in the Content Library or from the Content Editing window, as shown in the image below.

To assign a content item, or change the assignees, choose "Assign to" from the item's contextual menu. You can assign the item to yourself as well as to one or more other users. Note that the current user is always shown as "Me".

From the assign to window you can choose from a list of recent users to whom you've assigned content, or find another user by typing their name in the search box, as shown in the example below.

Assign the content item to a user by clicking the checkbox next to their name and un-assign the item by deselecting the checkbox.

Choose assign to from an item's contextual menu to choose one or more users to assign the item to

You can also assign a content item from the content editing window by clicking the assign icon, as shown in the image below.

You can also assign an item by clicking the assign icon in the content editing window

Item assignees are shown in Content Library and are represented by a user's gravatar if they have one, or an icon of their first name and a color chosen at random from a standard set of colors.

Hovering over the assigned to icon will display a popup with the full name of each assignee.

Hovering over an item's assigned to icon in the content library will show the full name of each assignee

When viewing content as a grid, the assignee icon is shown on each item's card.

In the grid view the assignee icon is shown on the content card

Filtering the content library by assignee
Link copied!

You can filter the content library by assignee by clicking the "Filters" icon. This allows you to focus on the content items that you, or other users, are working on. The assignee filter can be combined with other filters such as content status, so you could choose to list items that are marked with a status of "In Review" and which are assigned to the selected user or users.

In the example below we're filtering on items assigned to the current user ("Me") with a status of "In Review".

You can filter the content library view by assignee and combine this with other facets such as status

The view of the content will be updated to match the chosen filters.

Content matching the chosen filters

Assigning an item on Save
Link copied!

One way of enhancing your workflow is to assign one or more assignees when you save a content item. In the example below a content item will be assigned to two users when it is saved.

Assignees can be chosen when an item is saved

Item properties
Link copied!

Assignees are also shown in the item properties pane and reflected in the item's revision history. In the properties pane, the assignee icon and full name are shown and "Me" is used for the current user.

The name of each assignee is shown in an item's properties pane

Assigning a content item will be listed in the item's revision history but will not generate a new version of the item.

Revision history