Skip to main content

Organizing content

In the Content Library, content can be organised into folders. This is particularly useful if you want to keep all the content for one project together to make it easy to find. On this page we'll walk you through adding, renaming and deleting folders and moving content into your content into whatever folders you choose.

Adding folders
Link copied!

Folders are added within a repository. To create a new folder, right click on the folder to which it should be added and choose "Add subfolder" from the menu. You can also add a folder at the top level of a repository by right clicking the repository name and choosing "Add subfolder".

Adding a folder

A text edit box appears allowing you to give the new folder a name. Enter the new name, and type return. In this example a new folder is created called "Winter outerwear" within the "Winter" folder.

Setting the folder name

You can also add a subfolder to within another folder from the folder list at the top of the window. Right click on the folder within which you want to add a sub folder. In the example shown below, a subfolder is added to the "Collections" folder.

Adding a subfolder within collections.

You can add a folder at the current level of the folder structure by clicking the "+" icon. In the image below, we're choosing to add a folder at the top level of the repository.

Click the + icon to add a new folder at the current level of the folder structure.

Moving content into a folder
Link copied!

To move content into a folder, simply select one or more items, by clicking anywhere within the item's card, and drag the content into the chosen folder. When an item is selected, the checkbox on the bottom right of the item's card is checked. When viewing your content in list view, the checkbox is shown on the left of the content item's name.

In this example, 2 items are selected.

Selecting content to move to a folder.

As you drag the items, the number of items you're moving will be shown. In the example below, we're dragging the selected items to the "Winter outerwear" folder.

As you drag the content, the number of selected items will be shown.

The items have now been moved to the "Winter outerwear" folder.

The items have been moved to the destination folder.

Renaming a folder
Link copied!

To rename a folder, hover over the folder title until the ellipsis menu appears and right-click and choose "Rename". In this example we've chosen to rename the "Winter outerwear" folder.

Choosing to rename the winter outerwear folder.

The rename folder dialog is displayed allowing you to enter a new name. In this example we'll rename the folder to "Winter outerwear collection". Press "Rename" to apply the name change.

Entering the new folder name.

The folder is now renamed to "Winter outerwear collection".

The folder is renamed.

Deleting a folder
Link copied!

To delete a folder choose the "Delete item" from the folder's menu. In this example we are deleting the "Winter collection collection" folder.

Choosing to delete a folder

You will be asked to confirm the deletion.

Confirming the delete

An error warns that the "Winter collection collection" folder is not empty and cannot be deleted. Only empty folders can be deleted, so in order to delete this folder you would need to drag all the items into another folder or the top level of the repository.

The folder contains content and cannot be deleted

Archiving and unarchiving content
Link copied!

To help you manage and organise your content, you can move any content items you no longer need to the archive folder at the root level of each repository. Archiving a content item does not permanently delete it and you can browse and unarchive content if you need to continue to work with it.

Archiving content
Link copied!

Archiving a content item does not affect any previous work you have done with this content:

  • If the content item is published, the published version is still consumed as normal
  • Any versions of the content that have been saved to an edition are still available to add to slots and scheduled for publication
  • Archived content can no longer be edited, published or copied and does not show up in any search results

To archive a content item, choose "Archive" from the chosen item's card menu or open the content editing window and choose 'Archive' from the Save menu.

In the example shown below, we're choosing to archive "Girl in a hat slide".

Choosing a content item to archive

The item is moved from the current folder ("Collections") and a message appears indicating that the archive has been successful.

The content item is moved from its current folder

The item is moved to the archive folder at the root level of this repository. You can still view the content and its revision history from within the archive folder, but it can no longer be modified. If you decide to continue to work with the content, then it must be unarchived.

The archive folder

Archiving linked content
Link copied!

If you archive a content item that is part of a piece of linked content, for example a carousel slide that is added to a carousel, then the archived item will be shown as 'archived' on the editing screen for the parent item. Any item containing archived content cannot be published or saved to an edition.

In the example below, the girl in a red coat image is archived.

Archiving a carousel slide

When the content form for the "Winter is coming" carousel is displayed, the "Red coat in the snow" image is marked as archived. The item can still be viewed or deleted from the carousel, but publishing the carousel item or saving it to an edition will fail.

If you open the archived content and unarchive it, then the carousel can be successfully published.

The item is marked as archived on the carousel screen

Unarchiving content
Link copied!

Content items in the archive folder can be unarchived from the item's content form or by choosing "Unarchive" from the item's contextual menu.

In the example below, we have opened the "Red coat in the snow" content item from the Archive folder. Notice that date and time that the content was archived is shown in the revision history.

To unarchive the item, click the 'Unarchive' button.

Choosing to unarchive content

The item is successfully unarchived and is moved back to its original folder. In this case it's returned to the root level of the repository.

The content is moved back to its original folder

To unarchive an item from the Content Library, choose "Unarchive" from the item's contextual menu as shown in the image below. The "Girl in a hat" item will be restored to its previous location in the Content Library.

Unarchiving a content item

Archiving slots
Link copied!

Slots can also be archived in the same way as content, by selecting a slot item in the Slot Library and choosing "Archive content" from the contextual menu. In the example shown below, the "home page feature slot" item would be moved to the "Archive" folder at the top level of the slots repository.

Archiving a slot

Archived slots do not show up in the slot browser when adding slots to an edition. An edition that has already been scheduled and contains one or more slots that are later archived can be published, but you will not be able to schedule an edition containing archived slots.

See Adding content to slots and Scheduling an edition for more information about adding slots and scheduling an edition.