Saving content

On this page we'll provide a quick overview of the commands available from the Save menu in the Content Form.

Saving a content item

If you are creating content that has not yet been saved, then the Save menu will contain a reduced set of options, as shown in the image below.

The Save menu for unsaved content
The Save menu for unsaved content

If you click the main Save button the Save dialog is shown. Give the content a name, choose which folder it should be saved in and optionally add a locale, status and assignee. Click "Ok" to save the content.

The Save dialog. From here you can give the content a name, choose a folder, locale, assignee and status.
The Save dialog. From here you can give the content a name, choose a folder, locale, assignee and status.

Once the content is saved, if there is a visualization defined for the content, then it will be displayed on the right hand side of the content form.

If you make a change the content, then the Save menu will be enabled and contain a number of options, as shown in the image below. Even if the content is up to date and the Save menu itself is not enabled, you can stil save another copy of the content or rename it.

The Save menu. The Save button will be enabled if the content has been changed and not saved.
The Save menu. The Save button will be enabled if the content has been changed and not saved.

The save menu

Here's a list of the available Save options.

Save and update editions

Save the content. If this content is used in any editions you can choose which editions to update with the latest version of the content. If the content does not require saving and the Save button is not enabled, then this will just be "Update editions".

Tag snapshot to edition

Open a dialog allowing the user to choose an edition to make this content available to. See tagging content to an edition for more details.

Save and create another

Save and close the content. Create a completely empty form for this content type. In the case of content, for example a carousel, that is the "parent" to "child" content such as the individual carousel slides, "Save and create another" is only available for the child content.

This item is only enabled if the content has changed since last saved and the Save button is enabled.

Save and close

Save the current content, close the window and return to the content library. This item is only enabled if the content has changed since it was last saved and the Save button is enabled.

Save as

Create a new version of this content, including the same values for the fields (in this case headline and strapline) and the same assets

Save and publish

Save the content and publish it to the Content Delivery Network (CDN). If the content does not require saving and the Save button is not enabled, then the menu name will be "Publish".

Rename

Choose a new name for the content and save it.

Update editions

Tagging content to an edition