Tagging a snapshot to an edition

One way to make a piece of content available to add to an edition in the scheduling view is to tag a snapshot of the content to an edition. This feature is useful if you want to make a specific version of a content item available to add to slots and editions. It makes it easy to work with multiple versions of the same content.

Tag snapshot to edition

To tag a snapshot to an edition, choose "Tag to edition" from the Save menu in the content form.

Save snapshot to edition has been renamed to Tag snapshot to edition.
Save snapshot to edition has been renamed to Tag snapshot to edition.

Select the event and edition to tag this content with. In the example below, the content is tagged to the "January sale edition".

Choose the edition to use to tag the snapshot.
Choose the edition to use to tag the snapshot.

The snapshot of the "Winter sale banner" is now tagged to the "January sale edition" (1 in the image below), making it easy to find the right snapshot to add to a slot or directly to an edition. This snapshot represents the specific version of the "Winter sale banner" that we saved. If we made a change to the banner, then we could choose "Tag snapshot to edition" again to tag the newer version of the content.

Snapshots can be added to multiple editions, tagging content to an edition is just a convenience to make the snapshot easier to find.

The snapshot is tagged with the edition in the snapshot browser.
The snapshot is tagged with the edition in the snapshot browser.

Content versions

When you save a snapshot to an edition, you are saving a representation of exactly how the content appears at this point in time. This allows planners to be certain that the content they approve and schedule is exactly the version of the content that will appear when the edition goes live.

If the content is subsequently updated then a new version of the content will be created. In order for the updated content to be available to the "January special offers" edition, the content producer would need to save the updated snapshot to the edition. There would now be more than one version of the content available to the planner and they would be able to preview each version and choose the one they want to use.

An edition cannot contain different versions of the same content and if such a condition occurs, then the edition cannot be scheduled until the conflict is resolved. See the resolving version conflicts page for more details.

Adding content to an edition

Adding content to slots

Content revision history

Resolving version conflicts